ADDITIONAL TITLE FOR GYNEX PRESIDENTGynex Pharmaceuticals Inc. said Monday that Stephen M.Simes, its president and chief executive officer since 1989, waselected to the additional post of chairman. Simes has been aboard member since 1985, one year after he was appointed acompany vice president. He replaces as chairman Marvin P.Loeb, who remains a director.

Gynex shareholders elected to the board Mark S. Germain, themanaging director of D. Blech & Co. of New York, theinvestment banking company that recently made a $3 millionequity investment in Gynex.

DynaGen Inc. named to its newly formed scientific advisoryboard: F. Howard Schneider, DynaGen's senior vice president oftechnology; Judith K. Ockene, professor of medicine and directorof the division of preventive and behavioral medicine at theUniversity of Massachusetts Medical School; Lee B. Reichman,director of the pulmonary division and professor of preventivemedicine at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of NewJersey; Richard M. Rose, associate professor of medicine atHarvard Medical School; Thomas J. Ryan, chief of cardiology atthe University Hospital in Boston; and Saul Tzipori, professorand program head in infectious diseases at Tufts UniversitySchool of Veterinary Medicine.

Peter V. Leigh was named vice president and chief financialofficer at Liposome Technology Inc. He was corporate controllerof Bio-Rad Laboratories.

Michael O'Connell was named chief financial officer ofAdvanced Polymer Systems Inc. He was vice president andcorporate controller at The Cooper Companies.

Robert Serenbetz, president and chief operating officer of DNAPlant Technology Corp., was also named chief executive officerof the company.

Cortex Pharmaceuticals Inc. named James D. Grant to its boardof directors. Grant was chief executive officer of T Cell Sciences.

Sugen Inc. named Laura K. Shawver director of preclinicaldevelopment. She was director of the department of cellbiology and immunology at Berlex Biosciences.

TSI Corp. named to its board John M. Nelson, chairman of theboard and chief executive officer of Wyman-Gordon Co., anindustrial manufacturing company.

Athena Neurosciences Inc. named M. Kent Shellenbergerdirector of clinical affairs. He was director of clinical researchand development of the central nervous system for Parke-Davis Research, a division of Warner-Lambert Co.

Protein Engineering Corp. named Thomas P. Stossel chairman ofits medical advisory group. He is director of the division ofexperimental medicine and a physician in thehematology/oncology division at Brigham & Women's Hospitalin Boston.

Biocircuits Corp. named Herman Gaub and David Kelso to itsscientific advisory board. Gaub is a Heisenberg Fellow in thechemistry department at Stanford University. Kelso is associateprofessor of biomedical engineering at Northwestern Universityand founder of Pandex Laboratories, a biomedicalinstrumentation company.

Cel-Sci Corp. named Evan M. Hersh to its scientific advisoryboard. Hersh is vice-head of the department of internalmedicine at the University of Arizona and director of clinicalresearch at the Arizona cancer center.

Biogen Inc. named Steven P. Adams director of medicinalchemistry. Adams was department head of biological chemistryin the corporate research division at Monsanto Co.

(c) 1997 American Health Consultants. All rights reserved.