WASHINGTON - As President Bush awarded 14 outstandingtechnologists the 1991 Medal of Technology on Monday, a teamled by some of the nation's top biotechnology executivesestablished a foundation to support the medal.

The Foundation for the National Technology Medal willpublicize the medal, which was first awarded in 1985, and itsrecipients and establish educational programs in science andtechnology, according to George Rathmann, Icos Corp. chairman,who is the foundation's co-founder and president.

In addition to Rathmann, the foundation's board includes JamesVincent, chairman and chief executive of Biogen Inc.; G. StevenBurrill, national director at Ernst & Young; David Pall, founder& chairman of The Pall Corp.; and Joan Loizeaux, partner atHogan & Hartson.

Rathmann told BioWorld that the foundation plans to raise a$10 million to $15 million endowment. He hopes recipients ofthe reward will become American "heros who can dramatizethe role of science and technology."

Burrill said the foundation wants to promote primary andsecondary education in high technology and to providescholarships for post-graduate education, particularlyprograms that bring business and science students together.

-- Steve Usdin BioWorld Washington Bureau

(c) 1997 American Health Consultants. All rights reserved.